A Scarf’s View of the Writers Guild Strike

scarf.jpg

I am Anne D. Bernstein’s scarf and I am one pissed-off accessory! Why? Well, I’ve been out on the Writers Guild picket lines in New York City this week, freezing my fibers off. And I have a big beef with the way the media has been portraying the writers. You see, the very first article in the New York Times to cover the pickets said that “…instead of hard hats and work boots, the people on the pickets had arty glasses and fancy scarves.” I would like to say that I was purchased at Century 21, and although I do not recall my exact price, as the receipt is long gone, I am quite sure that it was approximately six bucks. (In the interest of full disclosure, I believe she also picked up some black opaque knee-highs at the time.)

The point I am making is that I am not a fancy scarf; I am a modest scarf. I truly believe that the New York Times reporter had a preconceived angle: to portray the writers as rich, but how to do so? The reporter looked around. Now, writers are pretty schlubby dressers, in general. Lots of sneakers, and not the limited edition kind that go for thousands of dollars. No obvious trapping of wealth like fur coats and bling bling. A flash of insight! “I know! I will call their scarves FANCY! Thus implying that the writers are effete and spoiled and should not be demanding their share of new media revenues because they have enough money already.” (Since my owner does not wear glasses, someone else will have to step in to address the false and perhaps libelous portrayal of eye-wear.)

Now, there may have been some scarves in the crowd that embody an understated elegance, perhaps even a cushy cashmere in the bunch. But my point is that most writers in the WGA are not rich. It’s nice that some of them are, because they give everyone hope, and sometimes throw a party with cheese sticks or pick up a bar tab. But most WGA writers simply want to be compensated fairly. To make a decent living, collect some residuals during slow times, qualify for health insurance and a pension. The trying-to-make-ends-meet writers are out there walking alongside the writers who are actually recognized by the general public and some of whom are…um…well…rolling in the dough! Should we snub Larry David because he can afford a walk-in closet full of Nat Nast? Even vintage Nat Nast? I say nay! Unfortunately, the fact that some writers have a nice chunk of change in the bank has been used to unfairly categorized the whole sore-footed gang as fancy-scarf-wearing, latte-sipping potentates.

Well, enough from me for now. I will continue to report from the picket lines. If this strikes goes on for a while, I will be joined by co-commentators including a warm wool/poly hat and a pair of snow boots from Marty’s.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “A Scarf’s View of the Writers Guild Strike”

  1. gollysunshine Says:

    Loved your tale, my common woman’s scarf. I got miffed at that description too. I was at the rally this morning at FOX studios… and a scruffy bunch of writers (and actors and script coordinators and assistants) they were there, too. Because we’ve important things to say… not be clothes horses.

  2. Howard Sigman Says:

    I am Howard’s feather boa from his Rocky Horror days. I have nothing to add outside of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell.”

  3. David Cohen Says:

    I’d like to see the price tag on just one of Rupert Murdoch’s socks. A Moonves tie. A Redstone cuff link.

Leave a Reply

